Thurne Mill was built in 1820 by the millwrights England & Co of Ludham, Norfolk.
Originally when the mill was built it would have had common canvas sails and a scoopwheel but in 1885 the mill was raised (hained) to accommodate the new turbine pump and the patent sails. These allowed the Marshmen a little more free time.
Bob Morse had a fascination with windmills since he was a young boy. In 1949 a boyhood dream became a reality when he purchased the then derelict Thurne Mill. In 18 months, with the help of Albert England, a direct descendant of England’s the tower was restored. The mill was then leased to the Norfolk Windmill Trust. Sadly Bob Morse passed away in January 2007. The current owner of Thurne Mill is Debra Nicholson.
In 2018, after a period of having a pinkish glow due to a fungus attacking the original paint, volunteers help us take on The Great Thurne Mill Repaint!
Thurne Mill often attracts media attention for its iconic impact on the Broads landscape and it’s historical importance.
We’re crowdfunding the £6000 a year it takes to keep Thurne Mill white, turning and open. Find out more and donate to our crowdfunding campaign. Every pound matters!
Thurne Mill is open to the public on the dates below however, please call or email to confirm and request further details.
Below are the opening days for 2019
(Opening Times 11-4pm):
They may be additional opening dates over the summer season so contact us to confirm.
Entry Free of Charge – Donations Welcome
Find Thurne Mill: